MENU

Christchurch (Papanui) Parents Centre Baby & You Antenatal and Postnatal Programme

Our Childbirth Education courses are taught by our very experienced, knowledgeable and open-minded Diploma Qualified Childbirth Educators. We offer classes in Papanui, Cashmere and Lincoln.

  • May 13
    7 sessions, Mon 6:30 PM - 8:45 PM (note: there is no session on 3rd June)
    Papanui
    Workshop
    • $295.00 incl. GST
    Register4 places remaining
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 13 May 18:30 - Mon 13 May 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 2
    Mon 20 May 18:30 - Mon 20 May 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 3
    Mon 27 May 18:30 - Mon 27 May 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 4
    Mon 10 Jun 18:30 - Mon 10 Jun 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 5
    Mon 17 Jun 18:30 - Mon 17 Jun 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 6
    Mon 24 Jun 18:30 - Mon 24 Jun 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 7
    Mon 01 Jul 18:30 - Mon 01 Jul 20:45
    Papanui
  • May 15
    7 weeks, Wed 6:30 PM - 8:45 PM
    Papanui
    Workshop
    • $295.00 incl. GST
    Register2 places remaining
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Wed 15 May 18:30 - Wed 15 May 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 2
    Wed 22 May 18:30 - Wed 22 May 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 3
    Wed 29 May 18:30 - Wed 29 May 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 4
    Wed 05 Jun 18:30 - Wed 05 Jun 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 5
    Wed 12 Jun 18:30 - Wed 12 Jun 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 6
    Wed 19 Jun 18:30 - Wed 19 Jun 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 7
    Wed 26 Jun 18:30 - Wed 26 Jun 20:45
    Papanui
  • Jul 22
    7 weeks, Mon 6:30 PM - 8:45 PM
    Papanui
    Workshop
    • $295.00 incl. GST
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 22 Jul 18:30 - Mon 22 Jul 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 2
    Mon 29 Jul 18:30 - Mon 29 Jul 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 3
    Mon 05 Aug 18:30 - Mon 05 Aug 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 4
    Mon 12 Aug 18:30 - Mon 12 Aug 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 5
    Mon 19 Aug 18:30 - Mon 19 Aug 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 6
    Mon 26 Aug 18:30 - Mon 26 Aug 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 7
    Mon 02 Sep 18:30 - Mon 02 Sep 20:45
    Papanui
  • Jul 24
    7 weeks, Wed 6:30 PM - 8:45 PM
    Papanui
    Workshop
    • $295.00 incl. GST
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Wed 24 Jul 18:30 - Wed 24 Jul 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 2
    Wed 31 Jul 18:30 - Wed 31 Jul 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 3
    Wed 07 Aug 18:30 - Wed 07 Aug 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 4
    Wed 14 Aug 18:30 - Wed 14 Aug 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 5
    Wed 21 Aug 18:30 - Wed 21 Aug 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 6
    Wed 28 Aug 18:30 - Wed 28 Aug 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 7
    Wed 04 Sep 18:30 - Wed 04 Sep 20:45
    Papanui
  • Sep 09
    7 weeks, Mon 6:30 PM - 8:45 PM
    Papanui
    Workshop
    • $295.00 incl. GST
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 09 Sep 18:30 - Mon 09 Sep 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 2
    Mon 16 Sep 18:30 - Mon 16 Sep 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 3
    Mon 23 Sep 18:30 - Mon 23 Sep 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 4
    Mon 30 Sep 18:30 - Mon 30 Sep 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 5
    Mon 07 Oct 18:30 - Mon 07 Oct 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 6
    Mon 14 Oct 18:30 - Mon 14 Oct 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 7
    Mon 21 Oct 18:30 - Mon 21 Oct 20:45
    Papanui
  • Sep 11
    7 weeks, Wed 6:30 PM - 8:45 PM
    Papanui
    Workshop
    • $295.00 incl. GST
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Wed 11 Sep 18:30 - Wed 11 Sep 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 2
    Wed 18 Sep 18:30 - Wed 18 Sep 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 3
    Wed 25 Sep 18:30 - Wed 25 Sep 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 4
    Wed 02 Oct 18:30 - Wed 02 Oct 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 5
    Wed 09 Oct 18:30 - Wed 09 Oct 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 6
    Wed 16 Oct 18:30 - Wed 16 Oct 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 7
    Wed 23 Oct 18:30 - Wed 23 Oct 20:45
    Papanui
  • Nov 04
    7 weeks, Mon 6:30 PM - 8:45 PM
    Papanui
    Workshop
    • $295.00 incl. GST
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Mon 04 Nov 18:30 - Mon 04 Nov 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 2
    Mon 11 Nov 18:30 - Mon 11 Nov 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 3
    Mon 18 Nov 18:30 - Mon 18 Nov 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 4
    Mon 25 Nov 18:30 - Mon 25 Nov 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 5
    Mon 02 Dec 18:30 - Mon 02 Dec 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 6
    Mon 09 Dec 18:30 - Mon 09 Dec 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 7
    Mon 16 Dec 18:30 - Mon 16 Dec 20:45
    Papanui
  • Nov 06
    7 weeks, Wed 6:30 PM - 8:45 PM
    Papanui
    Workshop
    • $295.00 incl. GST
    Session information
    Sessions
    Session 1
    Wed 06 Nov 18:30 - Wed 06 Nov 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 2
    Wed 13 Nov 18:30 - Wed 13 Nov 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 3
    Wed 20 Nov 18:30 - Wed 20 Nov 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 4
    Wed 27 Nov 18:30 - Wed 27 Nov 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 5
    Wed 04 Dec 18:30 - Wed 04 Dec 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 6
    Wed 11 Dec 18:30 - Wed 11 Dec 20:45
    Papanui
    Session 7
    Wed 18 Dec 18:30 - Wed 18 Dec 20:45
    Papanui
Description

Baby and You Antenatal & Postnatal Programme

Congratulations on your pregnancy, and welcome to Parents Centre Aotearoa!  This is an incredible time, as you embark on your parenting journey.

Antenatal Classes

Parents Centre antenatal programmes are delivered by qualified educators who hold an annual practicing certificate.  We ensure that the classes provide you with evidence-based information to help you make decisions.  They are carried out in a manner that is interactive, engaging, and fun.

These classes serve families primarily in Papanui, click the links if you live closer to the following areas - Cashmere or Lincoln.  These classes are held at The Village Papanui one day a week, on a Monday or Wednesday night from 6:30pm to 8:45pm, for 7 weeks.  You are best to complete this course at least 3-4 weeks before your due date.

Topics include

  • Brief overview of pregnancy topics
  • Choices in childbirth
  • Your labour journey
  • Relaxation, management & coping strategies
  • Support person/Partner’s role
  • Feeding your baby
  • Transition to parenthood
  • Responsive parenting
  • Practical parenting

 

Postnatal Classes

Our postnatal programme follows on from antenatal classes and offer sound tips and strategies as you begin your journey into parenthood.  It is ideal for those with babies up to around 12 weeks old.  

To see your baby smile, play and grow can be an extraordinary experience.  You will have feelings of tenderness and closeness and a sense of awe at the miracles of the first milestones.

With a new baby, sometimes come uncertainties.  Your tiny bundle may rule the entire household through their routines, sleep patterns and personalities.  This can be very challenging for a new parent, so come and join us and ask your questions.

Topics include

  • A brief reflection birth experience
  • Feeding & Sleeping
  • Communication and Settling pēpi
  • Lifestyle changes and looking after yourself
  • Physical development
  • Social and emotional and brain development
  • Age-appropriate toys and activities

The structure of this course is relaxed and informal with time for your questions and a cuppa. A great opportunity for new parents to get out of the house, meet other parents experiencing the same joys and challenges and foster their coffee group.  

All of our Antenatal programmes include membership with Parents Centre, see our membership page for what discounts are offered.

FIND A PARENTS CENTRE NEAR YOU

Select Location (by Region)
 
60+Locations across Aotearoa, & online

weaving communities of
informed and connected parents